Take Control of YOU!


image of take control
Can you control your reaction to words, situations and others behavior? A few years ago I conducted a study with one of my home bible study groups. Each participant was asked to monitor the changes in their emotions for at least 8 hours. They were to document what caused their emotional state to change. Either in a positive way, for instance, from sad to happy. In negative way such as from excited to angry or no change at all. Some were totally surprised to see how drastically they changed including what or whom caused the change. Are you aware of who or what can cause you to change?

image of control

News flash: According to Fox-Nation (FN)

“Praying helps people stay in control of their emotions and behaviour, according to a new study.”

For the born again believer this should come as no surprise or does it? One aspect of the indwelling Spirit of God is “self-control” so YOU have divine help. So is prayer the basis for this type of control or is it faith? This is not my spiritual page, which is Sound Truth Ministry, so I will not get too involved with the spiritual stuff here. I was advised year’s ago by my wonderful God “I gave you self-control use it”.  We may not be able to do it alone BUT with Jesus, “I CAN do all things…”, is it by prayer, faith or both?

English: Managing emotions - Identifying feelings

English: Managing emotions – Identifying feelings (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Getting back to the FN study, really, they actually did a study to determine what so many have practiced since, hmm let me think, FOREVER! I wonder how long it took them to draw this conclusion? People, has it diminished to this? I hope you are not confused by this. Do you study God’s word? Do you know the real answer to this?

OK, so some of us need “studies”, believe what particular people tell them, any form of reassurance…”different strokes for different folks”. LOL, I don’t ever remember saying that before but it seemed to be the right quote to use. Do any of you have a scripture or two to help understand what God’s word says about this?

Taking control of your emotions can be challenging, easy for some and next to impossible for others, there is hope for all if we become aware of the cause / triggers (I have been through a few therapy sessions). Here’s a treat from Oprah.com’s O Magazine, “how to stop crying“.

Do you remember or have you ever heard this (OK I am showing my age with this one):

image of sticks and stones

Have you been able to actually make this come true? The truth is words, name calling and negative statements can have a devastating impact on us. Especially if we fail to learn how to control the way we react. I am not saying it is always easy, but it is possible. Dr. Jeremy Sherman, Psychology Today, states:

“You can jumpstart emotions, fake it ‘til you make it, behave differently, and people will respond differently.”

In what ways have you learned to control how and/or what people say or do affect you? Did this post/blog cause a change in your emotional state? I would love to hear from you?

About Bishop Tim

Born in 1952, I consider myself to be very blessed in that I have lived a very full life, with many experiences in what I consider to be the three most significant areas of life, Personal, Professional, and Spiritual. I am a fully recovered drug addict/dealer who did many things in the past that I now use to minister to others since 1977. A Vietnam era veteran, retired computer engineering executive/computer geek (web and graphics design, programmer, consultant and analyst), husband, father and grandfather, minister, amateur photographer, artist, musician, vocalist, instructor/teacher and chef... I strive to fulfill my purpose in life “liberating God’s people” with sound truth. Sound Truth Ministry has the freedom to provide the unadulterated Word of God. We have no overhead, physical building or congregation to try to please and we are not asking for money. All that we do is provided "free of charge". "Heal the sick, raise the dead to life again, heal those who have skin diseases, and force demons out of people. I give you these powers freely, so help other people freely." Matthew 10:8
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Reply and share your thoughts

