Controlling Type II Diabetes


image - Diabetes - knowledge is key

You can control Diabetes

Controlling Diabetes is possible but for most of us may not be so easy. I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes on Jan 29, 2009, my blood (fs) glucose reading was 393.0 and my HA1C was 13. The doctor sent me to the emergency room where they gave me two shots of insulin over a 2-hour period, released me and prescribed Metformin, I was to take 500 mg twice daily. On Feb 5, 2009 they doubled the dosage since my levels did not improve, so I was taking 1,000 mg twice daily. I started doing research to find out what I could do to get rid of this problem, I do not like taking medication, so having to take Metformin was not something I wanted to do for the rest of my life. So I began making lifestyle changes which included:

  1. eliminating most forms of sugar from my diet, e.g., sugar, high fructose corn syrup, corn syrup, hoeny, molasses, etc. Be careful not to over do it here, you can actually cause hypoglycemia, I try to maintain an intake of at least 10 grams of sugar per day from natural sources. (I will provide a full list and more details in my next blog)
  2. reading ingredient labels to determine what is in all products that we purchase
  3. frequent exercise; gradually built to averaging 1 hour per day (my nutritionist advised that I restrict it to 6 days per week)
  4. took my medication as prescribed, this was difficult, to get the best results it is best to take the medication at the same time each day; in my case at 12 hour intervals
  5. monitored my glucose levels daily
  6. requested routine lab test and insured the HA1C was included; it is interesting that I had to request this for some reason (I will not express my opinion on this in this blog) the doctors only included this upon request
  7. now that I was doing my part, I sought assistance from God and began to use the gift of self-control (an essential part of the indwelling Holy Spirit)

I am happy to report that as of Oct 6, 2010, I am no longer taking medication for diabetes; and yes I make sure my levels remain normal. The last HA1C from October 2013 was 6.4 and that is without regular exercise, but I am slowing returning to incorporate routine exercise. So for three years I am now officially considered non-diabetic. You CAN DO IT too!

image - you can control diabetes

Yes You Can!

Here are a few articles of interest: Tight Diabetes Control – American Diabetes Association®.

“Tight control means getting as close to a normal (nondiabetic) blood glucose level as you safely can. Ideally, this means levels between 70 and 130 mg/dl before meals, and less than 180 two hours after starting a meal, with a glycated hemoglobin (A1C) level less than 7 percent…”

Food Cures for Type 2 Diabetes.

“It’s an extremely serious condition, but diabetes doesn’t have to run (or ruin) your life. If you work with your doctor to monitor and control your blood sugar and commit to eating right and exercising regularly…”

Five Ways to Control Type 2 Diabetes.

“…the latest research on diabetes, which shows that taking early and aggressive steps to achieve tight control of your blood glucose levels — by eating right and exercising, for instance — pays off big time.”

Type 2 diabetes: Treatments and drugs – MayoClinic.com.

“Treatment for type 2 diabetes requires a lifelong commitment to:

  1. Blood sugar monitoring
  2. Healthy eating
  3. Regular exercise
  4. Possibly, diabetes medication or insulin therapy

These steps will help keep your blood sugar level closer to normal, which can delay or prevent complications.”

Diabetes prevention: 5 tips for taking control – MayoClinic.com.

  1. Get more physical activity
  2. Get plenty of fiber
  3. Go for whole grains
  4. Lose extra weight
  5. Skip fad diets and just make healthier choices

After Your Diagnosis|How You Can Control Type 2 Diabetes by Watching Your Blood Sugar – Type 2 Diabetes – Health.com.

“A 2005 study from the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE) involving more than 157,000 people with diabetes found that more than two-thirds weren’t adequately controlling their blood sugar, which put them at risk for blindness, kidney failure, foot amputation, and other complications.”

Bless you and live healthy!

About Bishop Tim

Born in 1952, I consider myself to be very blessed in that I have lived a very full life, with many experiences in what I consider to be the three most significant areas of life, Personal, Professional, and Spiritual. I am a fully recovered drug addict/dealer who did many things in the past that I now use to minister to others since 1977. A Vietnam era veteran, retired computer engineering executive/computer geek (web and graphics design, programmer, consultant and analyst), husband, father and grandfather, minister, amateur photographer, artist, musician, vocalist, instructor/teacher and chef... I strive to fulfill my purpose in life “liberating God’s people” with sound truth. Sound Truth Ministry has the freedom to provide the unadulterated Word of God. We have no overhead, physical building or congregation to try to please and we are not asking for money. All that we do is provided "free of charge". "Heal the sick, raise the dead to life again, heal those who have skin diseases, and force demons out of people. I give you these powers freely, so help other people freely." Matthew 10:8
This entry was posted in health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Controlling Type II Diabetes

  1. Pingback: Diabetic complications

  2. Pingback: Controlling Type II Diabetes – part 2 | Tim Pettiford's Blog

Please leave a Reply and share your thoughts

